The Alamo Bride

The Alamo Bride is the 7th book in the Daughters of the Mayflower series. The author, Kathleen Y’Barbo, admits to “bending history” just a bit in order to have the citizens of Quintana and Velasco greet the soldiers who came from New Orleans. You see, it was there that Ellis first saw Clay.

Clay (Claiborne William Andre Gentry) was sent by President Andrew Jackson to deliver funds to General Sam Houston. The plan was discovered, Clay was attacked, and lost his memory. Ellis Valmont found him shot and beaten, lying in a damaged boat floating in the reeds of the river near her home. She and her mother nursed him back to health, and all the while, Clay was becoming more and more attracted to Ellis. Will Clay’s memory return? Should Ellis trust him? Is she safe with him? He could be a spy for the other side, you know.

All the books of this series are historically accurate, romantic, and often funny as the characters come to life. They are also wonderful examples of Christian fiction. History buffs and lovers of romance novels will love The Alamo Bride, and this entire series.

What Makes This Reviewer Grumpy?

  • Misplacement of the word “only” in sentences – a common mistake we all make when speaking, but more noticeable when written;
  • missing commas;
  • “try and stay”, rather than the correct “try to stay”;
  • repeatedly using “bring” when it should be “take” – a modern day mistake not found in the 19thcentury;
  • using “further” when “farther” is needed;
  • some verb tense disagreement.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.